HomeHomeHome

Passover Calendar
5783 - 2023
PASSOVER - Eight-day observance (seven in Israel) commemorating the Exodus from Egypt and the liberation of the Israelites from slavery. The first two and last two days (in Israel, the first and seventh days) are full holidays. The intermediate days, 'Hol Hamoed,' are half holidays. Matzoh, is eaten during the entire holiday period.
Holiday Secular Date Hebrew Date Notes
Search for Chometz Tuesday April 4, 2023 13 Nisan 5783 Search for chometz after sundown.
The next morning, burn the chometz found the night before.
Burning of Chometz

Fast of First Born

Erev Pesach
First Seder Night

Wednesday April 5, 2023
14 Nisan 5783 Stop eating chometz approx. four hours after sunrise.  Remember to not eat matzoh until the first Seder.
If you did not already sell your chometz, remove any un-sold chometz from your home before the fifth hour after sunrise.

First born fasts until the Seder or they can avoid fasting by participating in a course of study at the Synagogue early in the morning.

Passover begins at sundown with first Seder.
1st day of Passover Second Seder Night

Thursday April 6, 2023
15 Nisan 5783 Second Seder begins after sundown.

First day of the Counting of the Omer begins at sundown.
2nd day of Passover Friday  April 7, 2023 16 Nisan 5783 Second day of the Omer
3rd day of Passover Saturday April 8, 2023 17 Nisan 5783 Third day of the Omer
4th day of Passover Sunday April 9, 2023 18 Nisan 5783 Fourth day of the Omer
5th day of Passover Monday April 10, 2023 19 Nisan 5783 Fifth day of the Omer
6th day of Passover Tuesday April 11, 2023 20 Nisan 5783 Sixth day of the Omer
7th day of Passover Wednesday April 12, 2023 21 Nisan 5783 Seventh day of the Omer
8th day of Passover Thursday April 13, 2023 22 Nisan 5783 Yizkor.  Passover ends at sundown.
Next year, the first Passover Seder will begin on Monday April 22, 2024 at sundown.


Home
Menu