Are peanuts and/or peanut butter kosher for passover? can i use maple syrup during passover? thanx
Peanuts are questionably considered legumes and legumes are Kitniyos. Peanut oil and all derivatives are also. Only certain Sephardic people eat Kitniyos products on Passover. More and more Kitniyos products are now displaying warnings on the label advising that only some Sephardic people should consider eating these products. Click here for an interesting article on the subject: http://kashrut.com/Passover/kitniyos/ So although peanut products may have a Kosher for Passover mark on the label, it should only be considered for use by some Sephardic people. For most of us, peanut products are avoided during Passover. Maple syrup is a processed food, so it would require a Kosher for Passover certification on the label to assure that it is Kosher for Passover. We will be offering Kosher for Passover pancake syrup in our online grocery store which opens in the next two days. Please stop by.
Answer this Passover Question